THANK YOU, GREAT ATATÜRK


 

Now, it is our responsibility and job!

© photocredit

Dear Great Atatürk,
I promise YOU,
I will do my best to protect equal rights for girls as a girl-child…
Own your visions as if mine to carry out them
during my lifetime and beyond.

I am proud being born a Turkish-American child,
Because of You, Great Atatürk,
Who I am, and who I will become
It was/is/has been seeded by YOU in ALL OF US…
Now, it is our responsibility and job
to convey it on many centuries to come..

Rüya Ünver

***

You’ve built up strong institutions for us,
Provided secular education and equal opportunities
to generations to come;
Shown us the light in your words such as,
“Science is the most reliable guide in life.”
And:
You’ve trusted in Teachers by stating:
“The new generation will be your devotion.”

Dear Great Atatürk,
You’ve set out equal education for girls,
and repealed the segregation in the early 1920’s.
And, you are the pioneer of one of the most needed visions,
“Peace at Home, Peace in the World.”

We are gathered here in New York, today
For the April 23rd Children Festival,
Because of You, dear Great Atatürk
We are celebrating it as a national holiday annually,
both ‘at home and in the world’,
as your heritage to us…

Dear Great Atatürk,
I promise YOU,
I will do my best to protect equal rights for girls as a girl-child…
Own your visions as if mine to carry out them
during my lifetime and beyond.
And, I will keep in my mind your ever inspiring vision such as,
“Peace at Home, Peace in the World”,
and
“The future is in the Sky”…

I am proud being born a Turkish-American child,
Because of You, Great Atatürk,
Who I am, and who I will become
It was/is/has been seeded by YOU in ALL OF US…
Now, it is our responsibility and job
to convey it on many centuries to come..
Dear Great Atatürk…
THANK YOU, for ALL what you’ve left to us…

By Bircan Ünver and Rüya Ünver
Dedicated to the April 23rd Children Festival April 8-12, 2017

Disclosure: A short and slightly different version of this poem was cited by Rüya Ünver during the April 23rd – 6th Annual International Children Festival in New York City on April 22, 2017. Rüya is a third-grade Atatürk School student, which runs by the Turkish Women League of America (TWLA | Amerika Türk Kadinlar Birligi)

Leave a Reply

